Travelchick

My adventures and mis-adventures as I travel here and there

2010 Detroit Auto Show

Last night my dashing man and I made our way through the suburbs to downtown Detroit (my first actual look at the city). Our destination was the 2010 North American International Auto Show, more commonly known as the Detroit Auto Show. For the 21st year, Detroit is hosting the week-long auto show (it’s dates coinciding exactly with the dates of my visit here), the largest in North America and featuring over 700 automobiles. It’s held in the Cobo Center in the middle of downtown Detroit. Adults pay $12 each to see the new inventions of auto designers from around the world up close and personal, including 2011 models and concept cars (they may or may not work, but they look really cool).

You can sit in the cars and play with all the knobs and dials, check out the trunk, adjust the seats- everything but open the hood. That last part made us sad because my boyfriend actually designs some of the parts under there and didn’t get to show them to me, but we had a lot of fun looking at all the cars in their fancy displays under the bright lights.

my precious Claretta in her last days

I’ve been more interested in cars than usual lately since I’m looking for a replacement for my dear Claretta (may she rest in peace), so it was an excellent opportunity for me to compare car sizes, shapes, colors, interiors, cargo space, leg room, you name it.

I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for the Mini (maybe it’s their cute diminutive size and maybe it’s the way they kick butt in the Italian Job…) but had never gotten to sit in one until last night. The boyfriend and I had a friendly debate regarding the merits of their retro-looking interiors (it could also be interpreted as futuristic, if you ask me).

Thankfully, we weren’t there today for the fire incident that took place in the Audi display area, causing the show to be shut down for a few hours this afternoon.

One of my favorite things had to be the tiny commuter cars that can fit only 2 people and are just one seat wide! Just the craziest thing ever!

Even for someone who doesn’t work with cars, know a lot about cars, or even currently own a car, the Detroit Auto Show was a lot of fun, very educational and interesting, not to mention the fact that it’s a highly appropriate activity for someone to who is about to be a resident of The Motor City! I’d definitely recommending stopping in to check it out. It goes on until the 24th of January this year and will, I’m sure, be back next year in all it’s auto glory.

January 21, 2010 - Posted by | Detroit, Travel, United States | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

