Travelchick

My adventures and mis-adventures as I travel here and there

Where in the world am I?

Maybe someday I’ll get organized enough to write in this blog consistently. Man, this is really bad. I never even finished writing about Christmas vacation! I think I started some blogs but never finished them….

Anyway, that’s all old news now. So let’s talk about something timely. I’m living on the Puget Sound for the summer. Right on it. Yes, I am about the luckiest person in the world and I’m going to try to appreciate it as much as possible before the summer is over, which will unfortunately be in about 3 weeks….

Beautiful, isn't it?  This is what I get to look at every day!

Beautiful, isn't it? This is what I get to look at every day!

I live in a little cabin with one other student. We have a black and white cat. His name is Pleoh. I’m taking the last class of my life (at least I hope!): Phycology, the study of algae. I’m making beautiful algae presses for my collection, savory rosemary bread, and lasting memories. This beach is perhaps my favorite place on earth. I love the smell of the sea, the cool morning air, and the sound of the waves. Oh, may it never end.

This weekend I have reluctantly vacated my cabin dwelling to return home for a friend’s wedding. At 39 years of age, it is an exciting occasion for him. I’ve watched him in his valiant struggle to find the woman of his dreams and I could not be happier for him to have finally found someone as wonderful as she. I get to see my cat. And my roommates. My cat acts like she doesn’t care that I’m here, but I can see it in her face- she LOOOOOVES me! It’s so hot here. By the sea it’s a hot day if it gets above 80 degrees. So I’m hunkered down in my room with the drapes pulled attempting to keep from sweating…

I rented a car from Enterprise to drive down here. Wait, did I say car? I meant truck. I rented a truck. It’s all they had! The talked me into getting the insurance. I don’t know if it was worth it, but I was sure that as soon as I didn’t, I total the vehicle in a tragic accident and go deeply into debt paying for it. Not a pleasant thought. I got a very late start last night (another part of the Enterprise story) and got very sleepy about halfway here. I finally stopped at a rest stop and spent the night on the bench seat of my handy dandy truck. Despite my mother’s worst fears, I felt very safe. And I slept well.

This weekend I also have a job interview. Fingers are crossed. I really need the money.

I am planning to visit a ghost town -my last adventure passion- on the way back to the coast on Tuesday. That should be exciting so I will have to tell you about it. I want to find a buried treasure, but it’s probably only wishful thinking.

July 25, 2009 - Posted by | Puget Sound, Travel, United States, Walla Walla

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

