Travelchick

My adventures and mis-adventures as I travel here and there

Are we in danger yet?

There’s so much I didn’t even say about yesterday!

You may be inquiring as to why we’re under such close scrutiny, such protective security. Evidently, or so I’ve been told, the people are rebelling against the government, and we know rebellions are generally not safe, even for locals. According to the government travel website, communist and terrorist groups here have made threats and acts of violence against westerners. They say it’s best for Americans to maintain a low profile (kind of difficult when we get treated like we did yesterday at the festival!). Yes, people are super happy to see us, but that’s because Americans are so rarely seen here. And why are they so rarely seen? Because it’s so particularly unsafe the United States government is recommending that its citizens do not travel to this country, especially this particular part. The average citizen absolutely loves westerners, particularly Americans, but it’s those pesky terrorists and political insurgents we’re concerned with.

I really don’t want any of you to worry about my safety, though. I have to say that I’ve felt particularly safe here, more so than I have in other countries. That’s probably due in part to the fact that our security detail is taking their job so seriously. It makes me want to rebel, in fact, but I probably need to simmer down and thank God that we have such good protection. One of the head honchos in city security is a head deacon here and he’s in charge. If anything happened to us on this trip, it would effectively cut off opportunities for evangelism from the United States to this country. As it was, we had a difficult time convincing the conference it was safe enough to come here.

Oh, and also, I plan to prepare I slide show of all the different fruits I’ve eaten here. I’ll show the inside and outside and tell you how to get into them. A website someone showed me after reading yesterday’s blog talked about cutting rhambutans or biting them to open them. Haha! I would never bite a rhambutan open. Not here. They’re usually covered in ants. You have to open it quick and pop out that fruit. Thankfully, the ants don’t bite. Like most fruits here, I’ve discovered that the easiest way to open a good rhambutan is by squeezing it. That produces a nice crack and you can just open the thing right up. You can squeeze mangosteens too after you pull off the stem. All of the fruits that are most common right now are “squeeze to open” affairs.

Yesterday as I was sitting there absolutely surrounded by kids, it came to me that it must have been how it was when children came to Jesus. Not that I want to put myself up there with Him by any means, but maybe we’re acting as representatives of Him in that way. My energy for the children has to be coming from outside myself anyway.

Today I had a devotional talk in our training seminar. It was only a 5-minute deal, but I still woke up pretty nervous about it this morning. I just talked about a topic that I really cared about, though, and was able to share a really great personal story. It was awesome. And over quickly, too.

August 24, 2007 - Posted by | Philippines | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. One thing you should know…the central government plays up the “rebels” in order to get more military aid from the US…there are muslim groups (MNLF, MILF, now BIFF), and communist groups (NPA), and mostly, under the banners of all of them, simple bandits out for what they can get. You would be in more danger insulting a member of another religion than from a “rebel” group. And I would hazard a guess, that some of the people showing up for your first sessions, didn’t show up for others, because having satisfied their curiosity, they returned to their local catholic church! Catholic missionaries, doctors, and nuns have been in mindanao for centuries taking care of the people there. And many of the churches there have sister churches here in the US helping them along. The US has had agreements to use the jungles there as training grounds for special forces before they go on to the middle east for years…..and some of my friends among those groups tell me that the true “rebels” have nothing against americans…but will be more than willing to kidnap other nationalities in order to get ransom money…they fear the firepower the US forces could bring to bear if they angered them!! 😀

    Comment by Dom P | August 11, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

